top of page

Icelandic road trip - part I

It's a very long time I would write something about my last trip in Iceland, this summer.

My fault: I took too many pictures. From 2000 to 300, it wasn't a easy deal.

But, at the end of this very looooong story, I have nearly 300 pictures that will tell you the adventure in the wild and far far nature of the Icelandic land.

We've been there for 20 days, we rented a car (not a 4x4, unfortunately) and we made the clockwise circle. We saw almost the whole Iceland, from the west, to the north, to the east and then to the south. We saw amazing things, amazing and unspeecheless things. We slept into a tent with the most powerful wind outside, near the Vik shore. We went into a vulcano, near Reykjavik. We walked over the Vatnajökull glacier, during a snow storm. We passed through the fresh snow to reach the Viti lake, inside an old caldera. We discovered the northen fiords, the mountains passes, the sheeps everywhere, the icebergs of the Jokulsarlon, the sandur in the south.

Well, it's one of the best trip I've ever made and I'm so proud to survive it!

In this first part, you'll see the first 5 days (aka first 100 pictures) of our trip and I think I'll just mention the names and the places. I would need a specific site for my trips, if I wanted to tell in detail everything :)

First breakfast in Reykjavik, some nice walks into a wonderful cimitery and around Reykjavik.

Hiking and excursion inside the vulcano!

The road trip properly begins: towards the west-north of Iceland. To Helissandur, our first camping stop.

Golden shores, lonely lighthouses, lava caverns under the icelandic ground, Troll Cathedrals and black beach around the coast.

Once we decided to taste the famous shark meat, an Icelandic delicatesse. Oh god...

The next day we moved from further to the north, towards the Latrabjarg Peninsula. On the road we found a natural hot spring, facing to the fiord and some amazing views. Reaching the Peninsula it wasn't easy as you can imagine: we pierced a wheel, actually. But then we managed to see the puffins. Loads of puffins!!!

And then we drove almost all the night.

Next days in the part II :)

Cheers


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Non ci sono ancora tag.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Flickr Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
bottom of page